Professor Sabyasachi Bhattacharya is a physicist and works on dynamical aspects of disordered condensed matter systems ranging from superconductors, charge density waves and ferroelectrics in hard matter to colloids, liquid crystals, polymeric and micellar systems in soft matter. He is a Distinguished Professor at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR).

Professor Bhattacharya received his B.Sc. at the Presidency College, Kolkata (1970), M.Sc. at the University of Delhi and Ph.D. at Northwestern University, all in Physics, and conducted post-doctoral research at the National Magnet Laboratory at MIT, University of Rhode Island. He was at the University of Chicago as a James Franck Distinguished Fellow prior to joining the Corporate Research Laboratory of Exxon Corporation. He subsequently worked at the NEC Research Institute at Princeton where he was the Chair of the NEC Board of Fellows before he joined the TIFR as Director in 2002.

He has served on the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet, Government of India, the Basic Sciences and the Mega-sciences committees of the Planning Commission and the Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences of the Department of Atomic Energy. He has also served in the Councils of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, the Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, the National Physical Laboratory and the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre of Advanced Scientific Research. He was on the Council of the American Physical Society as the International Councilor and on the C-10 Commission on the Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

He currently serves on the Editorial Board of the Reports on Progress in Physics, the Technology Advisory Council of British Petroleum, the IIT-Council of the Ministry of Human Resource Development and the Council of IIT-Bombay. He is a frequent visitor to the New York University, the University of Chicago, the Cavendish Laboratory and the Trinity College at the University of Cambridge. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society.